The Stranger Times : (The Stranger Times 1) (Paperback / Softback)C.K.McDonnellWoodbridge Emporium Recommended Books

Read it and laugh!

  • Paperback / Softback
  • 448 Pages / Published 6 Jan 2022
  • 2 In stock

£8.99

SKU: 9780552177344 Categories: , ,

Description

There are dark forces at work in our world (and in Manchester in particular), so thank God The Stranger Times is on hand to report them . . .

A weekly newspaper dedicated to the weird and the wonderful (but mostly the weird), it is the go-to publication for the unexplained and inexplicable.

At least that’s their pitch. The reality is rather less auspicious. Their editor is a drunken, foul-tempered and foul-mouthed husk of a man who thinks little of the publication he edits. His staff are a ragtag group of misfits. And as for the assistant editor . . . well, that job is a revolving door – and it has just revolved to reveal Hannah Willis, who’s got problems of her own.

. great premise – great story – great characters . .

And as for the assistant editor . . .

well, that job is a revolving door – and it has just revolved to reveal Hannah Willis, who’s got problems of her own. When tragedy strikes in her first week on the job The Stranger Times is forced to do some serious investigating. What they discover leads to a shocking realisation: some of the stories they’d previously dismissed as nonsense are in fact terrifyingly real.

Soon they come face-to-face with darker forces than they could ever have imagined.

The Stranger Times is the first novel from C.K. McDonnell, the pen name of Caimh McDonnell.

It combines his distinctive dark wit with his love of the weird and wonderful to deliver a joyous celebration of how truth really can be stranger than fiction.
Readers love The Stranger Times:*****
‘A delight from start to finish – laugh out loud funny yet with plenty of thrills.’*****
‘Full of wit and humour, and knows how to keep the reader hooked.’*****
‘You’ll soon fall in love . .

. fans of Pratchett, Gaiman, Aaronovich will be blown away.’

‘Wonderfully dark, extremely funny’ proclaimed ADAM KAY, author of the No.1 bestselling This is Going to Hurt’
A filmic romp with great characters, a jet-propelled plot, and a winning premise’ said the GUARDIAN
JASON MANFORD thinks it’s ‘Hilarious. You’ll never look at Manchester the same way again.
‘The Chronicles of St Mary’s series author JODI TAYLOR declared ‘I loved this . .

Additional information

Weight 310 g
Dimensions 199 × 31 mm
ISBN-13

9780552177344

Publisher

Transworld Publishers Ltd

Imprint

Penguin

Date of Publication

6 Jan 2022

By (author)

C.K.McDonnell

Pages

448

Format

Paperback / softback

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Review

I ripped through this book in a couple of evenings!! It did make me laugh 🙂 …. An ideal book for fans of Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Ben Aaronovitch, and Syd Moore. This is defo a book to be recommended on one of my Facebook LIVE events.

Jules