Golem and the Djinni – Myth and Legend told as fiction

Helene Wecker

£9.99

An edition of Wecker’s fantastical novel set in 1899, featuring a Syrian djinni and a Polish golem in New York. One cold night, two newcomers emerge onto the streets of 1899 New York, and it is never the same again. Myth and Legend told as fiction 

In stock

HarperCollins Publishers
SKU: 9780007480197 Category: Tags: , , , , , ,

Description

Golem and the Djinni – Myth and Legend told as fiction

THESE NEWCOMERS ARE DIFFERENT. THEY WILL CHANGE EVERYTHING.

For fans of The Essex Serpent and The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock.

`By far my favourite book of of the year’ Guardian

`One of only two novels I’ve ever loved whose main characters are not human’ Barbara Kingsolver

With appeal to fans of Erin Morgenstern and Deborah Harkness. ‘A continuous delight’  – Boston Globe

One cold night, two newcomers emerge onto the streets of 1899 New York, and it is never the same again. Golem and the Djinni – Myth and Legend told as fiction

 But these two are more than strangers to this land, they are strangers to this world. From the depths of folkloric history come Chava the golem, a creature made of clay, brought to life by a disgraced rabbi and Ahmad, a djinni, born in the ancient Syrian desert and trapped in an old copper flask released accidentally by a tinsmith in a Lower Manhattan shop.

Two companions who were never meant to be released, and never meant to meet. And when they do, their opposing natures will be sealed by a special bond, but one that is threatened by watching eyes, roaming owners and a misunderstanding world.

A glittering gem of a novel, as spell-binding, as it is compelling, The Golem and The Djinni asks us what we’re made of and how we can break free.

Share With Friends
Embed a Book

Additional information

Weight 472 g
Dimensions 130 × 198 mm
ISBN-13

9780007480197

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers

Date of Publication

Thu Mar 13 00:00:00 GMT 2014

By (author)

Helene Wecker

Pages

656

You may also like…