Bronte BBC Radio Drama Collection, The: Seven full-cast dramatisations

Charlotte Bronte


1 in stock

BBC Audio, A Division Of Random House
SKU: 9781785299544 Category:


The complete canon of the Bronte sisters’ classic novels, dramatised by bestselling author Rachel JoyceJane Eyre by Charlotte BronteOrphan Jane falls in love with the enigmatic Rochester, but he is concealing a dark secret.Villette by Charlotte BronteLeaving England to teach in Villette, Lucy Snowe experiences the pangs of unrequited love.

About The Author

Charlotte Bronte (Author) Charlotte Bront was born on 21 April 1816. Her father was curate of Haworth, Yorkshire, and her mother died when she was five years old, leaving five daughters and one son. In 1824 Charlotte, Maria, Elizabeth and Emily were sent to Cowan Bridge, a school for clergymen’s daughters, where Maria and Elizabeth both caught tuberculosis and died. The children were taught at home from this point on and together they created vivid fantasy worlds which they explored in their writing. Charlotte worked as a teacher from 1835 to 1838 and then as a governess. In 1846, along with Emily and Anne, Charlotte published Poems by Currer, Ellis and Acton Bell.After this Emily wrote Wuthering Heights, Anne wrote Agnes Grey and Charlotte wrote The Professor. Wuthering Heights and Agnes Grey were both published but Charlotte’s novel was initially rejected. In 1847 Jane Eyre became her first published novel and met with immediate success. Between 1848 and 1849 Charlotte lost her remaining siblings: Emily, Branwell and Anne. She published Shirley in 1849, Villette in 1853 and in 1854 she married the Rev. Arthur Bell Nicholls. She died the next year, on 31 March 1855.

Share With Friends

Additional information

Weight 315 g
Dimensions 142 × 138 × 35 mm



BBC Audio, A Division Of Random House

Date of Publication


By (author)

Rachel Joyce